Book Recommendation · Bookish List

Recommending My Favorite Audiobooks Pt. 3

Hello friends! I really enjoy sharing my favorite audiobooks with you all, because these posts allow me to talk about books I loved but might not have had the chance to discuss on the blog before. On top of that, these are all books where I feel like the audiobook enhanced my reading experience so much that I simply must recommend them to you in this format. That being said, don’t fret if you somehow found this post but are not particularly fond of audiobooks! I’d 1000% recommend these books to you in any format, because I highly enjoyed them all.

If you are interested, I’d already posted about my favorite audiobooks here and here, and I’d even discussed why I love audiobooks and shared some tips on how you can get into them here.


Anxious People by Fredrik Backman
narrated by Marin Ireland

length: 9 hrs and 53 mins

summary: Hands down, Anxious People is one of the best audiobooks I’ve ever listened to. While I’m sure I’d have loved this book even if I had read it physically, I also know that the top-notch quality of the audiobook added a lot to my enjoyment. In any case, Anxious People is about a bunch of people that are thrown together thanks to a bank robbery gone comically wrong. While they seem like wildly different people at first glance, they might just find some common ground as the story progresses.

🌸 Related post: Ranking and Reviewing Fredrik Backman’s Novels


The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides
narrated by Jack Hawkins, Louise Brealey

length: 8 hrs and 43 mins

summary: I’m going to be honest, I expected a tad bit more from The Silent Patient than what I got, but in any case, it’s a pretty solid thriller. It follows a woman who’s been convicted for killing her husband and who was then sent to a psychiatric hospital. While it seems pretty clear that she is guilty, nonetheless, the fact that she hasn’t spoken since her husband’s death makes people endlessly fascinated with her and her case. That includes our other main character, a therapist ready to finally crack this case.


Know My Name by Chanel Miller
narrated by Chanel Miller

length: 15 hrs and 24 mins

summary: Frankly, if I had to make a list of books everyone should read, Know My Name would certainly be on that list. Having said that, I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone who’s triggered by sexual assault and rape, as Know My Name is the memoir of Chanel Miller, the Stanford sexual assault survivor. Miller is an excellent writer and her recollections of everything she went through are open and honest. While this is a difficult read, it’s also one of the most powerful books I’ve ever read.


Written in the Stars by Alexandria Bellefleur
narrated by Lauren Sweet

length: 11 hrs and 11 mins

summary: If you’re looking for a lovely f/f romance novel, Written in the Stars is for you! It’s a contemporary retelling of Pride and Prejudice, so we have one sunshine, cheerful heroine and one grumpy, closed-off heroine. They’re a really unlikely pair, but they work so well together and I loved seeing them realize that slow by slow.


In the Dream House by Carmen Marie Machado
narrated by Carmen Marie Machado

length: 5 hrs and 29 mins

summary: After a lighter novel, I’m back with a darker non-fiction book, this one by Carmen Marie Machado who shares her experiences of living in an abusive same sex relationship. Again, this is a difficult read, but one that’s also important, because as Machado points out, same sex domestic abuse is rarely discussed. Just like Chanel Miller, Machado narrates her own book and she does a fantastic job of conveying her emotions.


The Twisted Ones by T. Kingfisher
narrated by Hillary Huber

length: 11 hrs and 4 mins

summary: If I had to choose my all time favorite audiobooks, The Twisted Ones would certainly make it onto the list, as the narrator makes such a fantastic job. The Twisted Ones is a horror novel that follows a woman who is sent to clean out her deceased grandmother’s house. She discovers her step-grandfather’s journal, filled with horrors that, while might seem like an old man’s ramblings at first, will shortly prove to be true. I loved how atmospheric and chilling this novel was, and would highly recommend it.


Miracle Creek by Angie Kim
narrated by Jennifer Lim

length: 14 hrs and 5 mins

summary: While February wasn’t a good reading month for me, one book that really worked with me was Miracle Creek, a captivating mystery / court-room drama. I was able to figure out some of the twists, but that didn’t impact my enjoyment of the book – in fact, I was so pleased when I managed to piece some of the things together. Anyone who enjoys mystery novels that unfold a bit slowly should give Miracle Creek a chance.


Good Omens by Neil Gaiman & Terry Pratchett
narrated by Martin Jarvis

length: 12 hrs and 32 mins

summary: So uh, I have an interesting story with Good Omens. It was recommended to me by one of my friend a few years ago and I was so disappointed by it, mostly because I just could not care less about most of the characters. Still, I was excited about the tv show, and I ended up loving it. This year I re-watched it with a friend who hasn’t seen or read Good Omens, and after she listened to and enjoyed the audiobook, I decided to give it another chance. Imagine my surprise when I ended up loving it. While I still think that the show is miles better, I raised my rating of the book from 3 to 5 stars, which has never happened to me before.


Let’s chat!

What’s your preferred format – ebooks, physical books, or audiobooks? What are some of your recent favorite audiobook? Do we have any favorites in common?

19 thoughts on “Recommending My Favorite Audiobooks Pt. 3

  1. I read Anxious people as physical- but it’s true it should’ve been much better in audio! Especially if it’s multi-narrated. From the very start, it made me think how good it would be to be adapted to tv!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read Good Omens in paperback and haven’t revisited it yet, but I might pick up the audiobook now! I loved the show a lot more, but I’m curious to see how I would enjoy a reread on audiobook ❤ An audiobook that I recently adored was Other Words for Home. It’s a MG book about immigration written in verse and the audiobook narration was SO good! I didn’t even realize it was written in verse until I finished it 😱

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Let me know what you think if you revisit it, I’m really curious to hear your thoughts. 😀 That sounds wonderful! I don’t really read verse, but I had a similar experience with Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds – it’s written in verse, but the audiobook is so well-narrated that I didn’t even focus on the story being in verse. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love audiobooks! They help me read so much as a mom. If I ever have a physical book out while my son is awake, he just wants to grab at it lol I usually only listen to mystery/thriller as audiobook though. Idk what it is about those, but I love them in that format. The Twisted Ones sounds interesting! I think I’ll have to check that one out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, maybe him trying to grab your books is a sign that he will love reading too. ❤ I mostly listen to contemporaries, romances, and mysteries, thrillers, or horrors – I typically don’t love fantasy novels as audiobooks, but maybe I just tried the wrong ones. I hope you’ll love The Twisted Ones if you decide to pick it up!

      Like

  4. Considering I’m on the hunt for audio books to some my audible credits on before I cancel my subscription this post is very useful to me. I’ve had T Kingfisher on my radar to read something from and I love the sound of The Twisted Ones. Maybe I should get to listening to that. I’ve also wanted to read Know My Name ever since I heard about it. It may not be easy listening but I know it’ll make an impact when I do read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you’ll love The Twisted Ones if you read it, let me know when you do! I loved that book so much and the narrator was fantastic. Know My Name was a hard read, but it helps to know that she got through the most traumatic parts of what happened (as much as one can) and is writing from a better place. ❤

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.