Bookish List · Uncategorized

Revisiting An Old Post: Do I Read What I Say I’m Going To?

Hi all!  It’s Sabrina and as some of you may know, I used to run a book blog on my own called Sabrina’s Stories.  I stopped blogging in early 2016 but to be honest, the end had been coming for a little while before that.  Anyway, today I thought I would revisit one of my old posts and tell you if I followed through on my plans!  If you like it, let me know and maybe I will do more revisits in the future.

PS.  The original post was a Top Ten Tuesday back when it was hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

Posted on 7th July 2015 : Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

I specifically explained in the introduction of this post that the books I chose were all ones I actually had the intention of picking up.  Unfortunately for me, I have only since picked up four out of the ten books I mentioned.  That’s not even one for each year since I posted it. Still, I’m going to go through all the books I chose and tell you about why or why I haven’t read each.


GRACELING 
by Kristin Cashore
✅ READ 
I loved this book – so much so that I bought it and now have my own copy (it’s got a shiny sword on the cover and I love it).  I got my dad to read it not long ago too, and he seemed to enjoy it as well even if he was annoyed at the pacing in the second half.  However, I haven’t gone on to read the companion novels (Fire and Bitterblue), so I guess this only counts as half a success.


ERAGON
by Christopher Paolini
❌ NOT READ
You may recall I shared a story earlier this year about someone telling me I couldn’t consider myself a reader until I picked this book up.  Funnily enough, I noticed I spoke about this incident in this post too – a mere week after it happened. I kind of don’t want to read this one anymore either, but it’s still possible.


THE FIFTH WAVE
by Rick Yancey
❌ NOT READ
I very quickly lost interest in this book, even with the movie release.  I just realised it wasn’t going to be to my taste. I’ve even removed it from my Goodreads TBR which is pretty rare for me.


UGLIES
by Scott Westerfeld
❌ NOT READ
In the end, I just couldn’t get myself on board with this concept, no matter how good everyone was telling me the series was.  Plus, there are so many books!  I couldn’t start the series knowing how far I had to go – especially with people saying later books weren’t as good as the first.


ARISTOTLE AND DANTE DISCOVER THE SECRETS OF THE UNIVERSE
by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
✅ READ
Another book from this list that I read and enjoyed.  I’d thought I was going to find it long and boring, but it was long and impactful.  Okay, and a little bit boring, which is why I only gave it 4 stars.  It’s one of the books I credit with convincing me to pick up more realistic fiction.  I still remember finishing this book in the library while waiting for my dad to come pick me up after uni, trying not to cry in public.


A GAME OF THRONES
by George R.R. Martin
❌ NOT READ
Honestly at this point, I don’t think I’m ever going to read this, but we do own the box set, so it’s still on the table.  When I wrote this top ten list, I didn’t know much about the series except that it was adult fantasy.  However now I know that there is content in there that probably just isn’t going to sit right with me.  Plus, I know how the show ends (even though I never watched that either) and I don’t think I want to dedicate so much time to a series that ends… like that.


THE FINAL EMPIRE
by Brandon Sanderson
❌ NOT READ
I still want to read this book, lol.  I can’t believe it’s been so long that I have been meaning to pick it up – I’ve even been told by a family friend that I need to read it and watched one of the author’s series on Youtube about writing so I don’t know what’s holding me back.  Actually, I do: it’s a series of long books that everyone seems to love, so I ridiculously feel a lot of pressure to enjoy them.


READY PLAYER ONE
by Ernest Cline
✅ READ
This is another book that I now own a copy of….And have lent to my dad.  I loved this book when I first read it (again, enough that I bought my own copy).  It was like nothing I had read before, had so much action and an overall exciting atmosphere.  I’ve since heard some things (and seen the movie) which make me wonder if I would still like it if I read it today.  Unlike with Graceling though, I don’t think I’m going to reread it any time soon.


THE PROGRAM
by Suzanne Young
❌ NOT READ
I’ve actually taken this book off my Goodreads TBR, so I guess that answers the question of what my intentions toward it are now.  I remember almost all the bloggers I was following at the time were raving about this book, so of course I wanted to read it.  However, particularly knowing this is a part dystopian-part romance, I don’t think I would enjoy it if I picked it up now.


VICIOUS
by V.E. Schwab
✅ READ
This book… *deep sigh*  I feel so frustrated toward it, because I know I could have loved it, but I did not.  I gave it two stars.  It was much too boring for what it was and I didn’t connect with the characters in the way I had hoped to.  I felt as though there should have been more time spent in the past chapters rather than the present chapters so I could have cared more.  Alas, it was not to be for this book.  On another note: I said in my old post that I had intentions to pick Vicious up in particular very soon… I read it last year 🤣

What do you think?

Do you reread your old posts?  Do you follow through on your TBRs?  Should I really read the books on this list that I haven’t yet?  Let me know!

25 thoughts on “Revisiting An Old Post: Do I Read What I Say I’m Going To?

  1. I had a similar post where I look at ALL my past TBR posted on my blog: seasonal, anticipated reads, etc. The results were bad, I don’t think I get to half of the book I mentioned 😬 It was a fun way to look back and see if you’re still interested in the books though!

    I lost interest in The Fifth Wave and Uglies too. I did a huge clearout on my Goodreads dystopia TBR shelf a while back, so maybe it’s just me losing interest to the genre ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh I’ll have to go check that out! It sounds intense 😀 Lol, well as you say – it’s a good way to see how your interest levels change over time.
      You know, I think my issue with those two is probably the genre as well. At some point I just got tired of YA dystopia in particular and stopped reading it. I wonder if I’ll ever go back to it!

      Like

  2. For game of thrones, the ending to the books will be different than the show (apparently) so there’s still a bit of surprise there if you wanted to commit. I read through all the books years ago, but when the HBO series started I had to stop partway through season two because HBO MAKES EVERYTHING SO MUCH WORSE. The books aren’t pretty, but at least you can skim pages and get the gist of something horrible until it’s safe to read again, instead of having to watch it. *shudder*

    Definitely not one to force yourself into. xD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had heard that the book ending would be different too! If I had a definite timeline on when that would be out, maybe it would make me want to read the books more 😅
      I’m sorry to hear that the show made things that much worse. I can imagine a lot of it would be very hard to watch. Yikes.
      I don’t think I will be forcing myself into it now after your comment, so thanks! 😅

      Like

  3. I actually keep track of these sorts of post, just for myself, but happened to look back on some recent Can’t Wait Wed posts, to find how many I read or how many I read and loved. I do tend to actually read the books. I would say I am about 80%, and about the same for success rate too. I was impressed with my stats.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. omg, vicious is one my faves, so i’m super sad that you didn’t love it. but i totally get why you didn’t!
    lol, i’m probably never gonna read GoT too. i’m just sick of fantasy worlds where misogyny is extremely prevalent. if authors can come up with worlds that have dragons, they should be able to come up with ones that have women’s rights 😭 i know that sometimes misogyny plays a purpose in a story, but i’m tired of reading about fictional worlds that are dangerous for women when i’m already living in one. i read to escape, dammit. (this is why i love Priory of the Orange Tree so much—it has powerful women at its center, and nobody ever questions their power because of their gender.) i also know how the show ends though i’ve never watched it, but i’m pretty sure that the author isn’t going to end it like *that*. the show writers probably had to make up their own ending because the book series isn’t finished yet, which is actually a very good thing for George R. R. Martin, because people are relying on him to write a good ending for the series now more than ever 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Trust me, I was super sad that I didn’t love Vicious too 😭
      I totally get that! It’s tiring to read books that have so much misogyny – especially when it’s in sci-fi & fantasy. I really need to get around to Priory of the Orange Tree – I’ve tried two times but didn’t make it before I had to return it to the library. Yeah, I think I have heard that the author is going to do a different ending… if he ever gets around to it. Haha, very true :’)

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I really don’t look back at my old posts that often but I reckon it’s safe to say I don’t read half the books I say I will. I reckon 4 out of 10 isn’t terrible. I am glad to see Graveling was one of the books you read from this list, as well, because I adore that book. I liked the series as a whole to be fair, hopefully you can get to reading the other two books at some point. They are interesting reads.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh man, I definitely DO NOT. There are some books I wanted to read years ago but I honestly couldn’t care less about anymore. The Program is one of them lol. But you should definitely still read The Final Empire because it deserves all the hype and I love it so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I think you did pretty well with reading some of these! I think I do 50/50 on what I say I will do and read as well. If you want to start the Final Empire within the next two months, let me know! I would be up for a buddy read if you’re interested.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thanks! 50/50 is pretty good 🙂
      As much as I would love to buddy read The Final Empire, I don’t think it’s going to get to me from my library in the next two months. I put it on hold as soon as you commented this (I am bad at replying in a timely manner, but I do read all comments straight away) and I’ve been 4th place in the queue ever since.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s okay I don’t think I am going to get to it a n y time soon so whenever it comes to you let me know and we can see if I’ve read it or not 🙂

        Like

  8. I LOVE going back to these posts and seeing if I have actually done what I said I’d do!! I think I did it as part of my end of 2019 wrap-up and it was so great!! I think I barely did 40% of what I said I would, but gosh did I also buy a lot of other books!! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.