Uncategorized

Ten of the Best Tropes in Fiction

Hello friends! Tropes are shitted on quite a bit, which is something I just don’t get. I mean, I’m pretty sure we all have tropes we’d rather avoid, but there are so many books and authors who can work their magic, and make even the worst tropes great.

Admittedly, some of the tropes we included today are not the most original – some may even be cheesy as hell – but we adore them. To give you some recommendations that utilize the tropes mentioned, we have brought 30 books for you, three for each trope mentioned. Without further ado, let’s jump into them!

This post was made for Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.

I’m not even sure some of these count as tropes but I wanted to avoid romance as much as possible since I feel like I always harp on about romantic tropes and forget the others that make a book so wonderful.

the chosen one or a prophecy
  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
  • Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia
  • The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis
Hate to Love
  • Katy and Daemon in Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  • Juliette and Warner in Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
  • Alosa and Riden in Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller
Soulmates
  • Elena and Clay in Bitten by Kelley Armstrong
  • Just all couples in Psy-Changeling by Nalini Singh
  • Dunleavy and Karish in Resenting the Hero by Moira J. Moore
Friendships close as Sisters (or just Sisters who are friends)
  • Lissa and Rose in Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
  • Clary and Isabelle in City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
  • Scarlett and Tella in Caraval by Stephanie Garber
Badass Team
  • Zenith by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  • Beneath the Citadel by Destiny Soria
  • Invictus by Ryan Graudin

In retrospect, I should have gone out of my way to pick some non-romance tropes, because (1) not everyone likes romance, and (2) only one of the novels I mentioned are YA (I helpfully marked it with *)… and that’s out of the 15 titles. But I can’t even feel sorry, because these are just SO GOOD, and recommendation-worthy.

fake relationship 😉
second chance romance 😊
the grumpy, prickly character loves the soft character 🥰
there’s only one bed 🤭
unrequited love… or so they think 😍

Let’s chat!

Do you enjoy these tropes? Why/why not? Maybe you have some recommendations with these tropes? What are your favorite tropes?

29 thoughts on “Ten of the Best Tropes in Fiction

  1. Yes to the fake relationship trope! I love it, but honestly I don’t read enough of it, so thanks for the recs, Veronika! I also really love badass teams, but the only book I have read with one is Six of Crows, so those other books will cone in handy for me, Clare!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg yaaas. I realize most of the tropes that I love most are romance related 😂And I love so many of these ones! I didn’t even think about the “there’s only one bed” trope but LOL it’s sooo good! Aaah. I’m going to look up some of your book recs for each of these as well. Great list!

    My TTT post

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Romance tropes are so much easier to name but good to see some different tropes from books in general, I definitely adore a book that has some strong close friendships. I am with Veronika, though, give me a fake relationship always and I will be happy. Thank you both for some recs for each trope, always appreciate that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was so mad I forgot to include books with close female friendship – like you said, my mind immediately went to romance tropes. I guess they’re easier to recall because they appear in romance and in other genres, like fantasy, whilst the chosen one and others like it are related to a certain type of books. Glad you liked the recs. 🙂

      Like

  4. Veronika – we are trope soulmates. I highlighted fake relationships, but second chance romance is one of my most favorite when it comes to romance, and obviously, grumpy heroes are the best.

    Like

  5. Ahh I love all of these, such great picks! I always find it fun when the “there’s only one bed” happens, it always makes me swoon a little bit haha 🙂 and yes to the fake relationship turning into a real one, always love that one too! 😀

    Like

  6. You and I have the most in common Veronika, I adore fake dating, grumpy heros and the absolute angst of both characters thinking their love is one sided!

    Like

  7. Yessss! You both have some great picks and I agree with so many of them. I keep flip flopping on my favourite trope of all time but I think I lean more towards the enemies to lovers/hate to love types of tropes. I’m 100% on brand with them, I don’t know why.

    Like

  8. Hate to love isn’t usually a favorite but it totally worked for me with Katy and Daemon in the Lux series. 🙂 I saw the “only one bed” trope A LOT this week and it surprised because I didn’t realize it was so commonly used!

    Like

  9. I love a good fake romance book! I always remember No Love Allowed by Kate Evangelista when it comes to that trope. I also love hate to love but it’s one I am a little wary of because some people make it bully to love and I think that’s majorly problematic! A good hate to love was The Way to Game the Walk of Shame and I… can’t remember who it is by DD: Hehehe the only one bed trope is gold and I live for close friendships! Found families are great 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. VERY TRUE about hate to love – I hate bullying, so that’s something that makes me wary of the trope too (like The Cruel Prince? Eh, I don’t and won’t support Jude and Cardan’s “relationship”, no matter the hype & me loving the series) but it’s still so fun if done right, because the banter tends to be A++. The Way to Game the Walk of Shame is on my tbr, and I also own it, so yay, I’m glad you mentioned it!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.