Bookish List

An Appreciation of Our Favorite Book Bloggers

An Appreciation of Our Favorite Book Bloggers

Hello friends! We’re happy to say that we are back after taking a small hiatus. We decided to come back on the 24th of April, as this day marks three years since the start of Wordy and Whimsical. It’s been fun – if sometimes a bit exhausting – to build our little bookish corner on the internet, and we’re really thankful for everyone who’s been a part of our journey. Really, we appreciate all of you so much. 💛

Today, we’d like to show a bit of appreciation for the book blogging community and our favorite people in it. Since we started blogging, it’s been the book blogging community that has made us want to continue blogging and has inspired our journey. As such, in today’s post, we collected (some of) our favorite bloggers, shared why we love them, and highlighted a couple of incredible posts by them. We’re excited to share this post with you, and urge you to visit these fantastic blogs.

AMBER @ DU LIVRE

Sabrina: Visiting Du Livre is always a fun time! Amber’s double reviews are probably my favourite posts of hers, but I also love her various lists and getting an insight into her life in her wrap ups. Plus, I can always count on Amber to be discussing both books I’m already interested in and books I’ve never heard of – a perfect combination!

🌸 Audiobook Narrators for Newbies
🌸 2022 Adult Fantasy Romance Book Releases
🌸 She reviewed Wild and Wicked Things and The Love Connection

BECKY @ A FOOL’S INGENUITY

Vera: I’ve been following Becky for ages, and all that time, I’ve never been disappointed by any of her posts. I love getting glimpses into her life outside of reading through her Sunday Summaries, and I’m a big fan of the cool ideas she comes up with for her blog posts. On top of that, I really like talking to her and she is also great to do buddy reads with.

🌸 She Tested Some Goodreads Alternatives
🌸 She Discussed Why She Isn’t Loving Romance Right Now
🌸 She Talked About How Books Might Be Changes Based on Location

CARO @ BOOKCHESHIRECAT

Vera: Not only is Caro an incredible book blogger, but she is also one of the loveliest people I’ve met in the book blogging community. She is great to talk to and is a superb buddy-reading partner. Her blog is one of my favorite places on the internet, as it’s full of creative ideas and great recommendations.

🌸 Authors She Discovered in 2021
🌸 Did She Read the Books She Hauled in 2021?
🌸 Recommending Books with Autistic Characters

CHANA AND MALKA @ PAPER PROCRASTINATORS

Sabrina: I know Chana is on an indefinite blogging hiatus right now, but I couldn’t possibly leave her out! I have always found both Chana and Malka’s posts (and comments!) to have impressive depth and thought to them. I especially love their discussion posts for this reason. Additionally, I will always feel a fondness for them simply because they are co-bloggers too!

🌸 Malka discussed what it takes to write a blog post
🌸 Chana asked if we must read “must-read” classics
🌸 Malka reviewed Dating Dr. Dil

DESTINY @ HOWLING LIBRARIES

Vera: I’ve been following Destiny for a while now, and as a horror fan, her blog has been really important for me. She reads a lot of horror/thriller, so her posts are full of great recommendations for these genres. On top of that, she reviews lesser known horror titles, as well, which has helped me discover underrated authors that I hadn’t heard of before.

🌸 She Reviewed We Can Never Leave This Place by Eric Larocca
🌸 She Reviewed Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas
🌸 She Shared Ten Star-Crossed Romances

EMILY @ PAPERBACK PRINCESS

Sabrina: Emily is so thoughtful and her blog really reflects that. All her posts are well considered and I often leave her blog with something new to ponder. I particularly love her reviews that discuss themes in the books and/or bring them into a wider context. And I can’t forget to mention that I am constantly appreciating her openness with discussing mental health.

🌸 She reviewed Ariadne by Jennifer Saint
🌸 She discussed a recent mental health win
🌸 She asked how you keep track of new releases

KAT @ LIFE AND OTHER DISASTERS

Sabrina: If you are into movies and TV, you really need to be reading Kat’s blog! Of course, she has loads of book content too – my favourite posts are from her reading experiment series where she tests her reading tastes against various celebrities. Her writing is so entertaining and these posts exemplify that.

🌸 She discovered if she and Lupita Nyong’o are compatible readers
🌸 She reviewed One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid
🌸 Weekly TV & Movie Recap #15

LOUISE @ MONSTRUMOLOGY

Sabrina: Each post by Louise is a treat! Her writing style is so engaging and she can take even the most simple of topics and turn them into something interesting. I also can’t not mention how much I adore Monstrumology‘s visual aesthetic. Louise has been blogging for a long time, and the experience shows.

🌸 She recommended adult fiction books that aren’t about sad people having affairs
🌸 She discussed things she has learnt through library work
🌸 She discussed classics that have been misinterpreted by modern audiences

MARIA @ THE CHARACTER STUDY

Sabrina: Maria is such a fun and clever person with a variety of interests as reflected in her blog! I love reading all her posts, but I particularly enjoy the ones about her more specific interests – her passion is infectious! I’m so glad she started blogging!

🌸 She discussed the Young Avengers comics, introduces the characters and proposed a reading order
🌸 She reviewed I Kissed Shara Wheeler by Casy McQuiston
🌸 She recommended literature that inspired the Pre-Raphaelites

MARIE AND NYX @ DRIZZLE & HURRICANE BOOKS

Vera: Marie and Nyx are two bloggers I really look up to. Their blog is gorgeous and it is also full of great book recommendations (and reviews), as you’ll see from the posts I highlighted below. If that wasn’t enough, Marie frequently shares tips and tricks for bloggers, which I’ve always found very useful.

🌸 Marie Shared Tips on How to Write a SEO Optimized Blog Post
🌸 Marie Recommended 20 YA Books About Sisters
🌸 Nyx Recommended 10 YA Dystopian Novels

MORGAN @ MORGAN IS READING AGAIN

Vera: I’m not great with time, but I’m fairly certain I discovered Morgan’s blog relatively recently – i.e. in the past year or so – compared to the other blogs on this list. Nonetheless, I’m a massive fan of their content – seriously, I’m always impressed by their ideas – and I always enjoy myself a lot whenever I visit their blog.

🌸 They Shared How They Changed as a Reader
🌸 They Shared Some of Their Bookish Memories
🌸 They Rated Some K-Dramas and Their Soundtrack

NICK @ THE INFINITE LIMITS OF LOVE

Vera: I’ve been following Nick for ages, and I’ve always been incredibly impressed by her content. She has unique and fun ideas, and her posts never disappoint. She reads, reviews, and recommends a massive amount of romance novels, so her blog is a great resource for romance fans such as myself.

🌸 Tea Time Talk With Anita Kelly
🌸 YA Audiobooks for Fans of Romance
🌸 Gestures of Love With 17 Romance Couples

ROBERTA @ OFFBEAT YA

Vera: Roberta is another blogger I’ve been following for ages and I cannot recommend her blog enough, particularly for those of you who are interested in underrated, lesser known titles. She posts a variety of different content on her blog – reviews, discussions, personal posts – so everyone can find something to read on her blog, in my opinion.

🌸 She Discussed Author Flops
🌸 She Reviewed The Shadow Glass by Josh Winning
🌸 She Shared Some Mini Reviews of Seanan McGuire’s Books

SOPHIE @ ME & INK

Vera: I love Sophie’s blog to bits, and I was so happy when she returned to blogging. Her content is really interesting and engaging – I always find myself wanting to leave a comment under her posts. On top of that, I also love reading her replies to my comments and the comments she leaves on our blog.

🌸 Reading Adam Silvera for the First Time
🌸 Movie Nights: Book To Movie Adaptations
🌸 The Wailing Writer: How to Begin Writing a Novel

TASYA @ THE LITERARY HUNTRESS

Sabrina: I always love checking out Tasya’s blog! There are so many posts about books, including reviews, but also plenty about music and film and TV which adds a lot of variety. I also love how her writing style makes me feel like I am reading a message from a friend.

🌸 She reviewed Queen of the Tiles by Hanna Alkaf
🌸 6 Types of Book Covers with Plants on Them
🌸 Screen Rambles: Second Half of 2021

Let’s chat!

What is your favorite thing about blogging? Is it the community, or something else? Who are your favorite book bloggers?

35 thoughts on “An Appreciation of Our Favorite Book Bloggers

  1. Thank you so much for featuring me and saying those really kind words about my blog! I’m in such lovely company on this list and can only say that Wordy and Whimsical is one of my favorite blogs as well. You are both doing great work! Happy blogiversary ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh this is such a wonderful, wonderful post and this is so kind of you, thank you so much for the mention, honored to be featured alongside these wonderful bloggers! 😭🥺😭🥺

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Yay I am so happy to see you are back 😍 I have definitely missed your posts and hope you have had a nice break. Such a good idea to come back on your blog anniversary too… Congrats on 3 years 🎉💞🎊 that is such a wonderful achievement! Your blog is amazing!! 😍 I, for one, am very grateful for all your content!!
    It is such a sweet idea to share a list of bloggers, and truly think it is the people which have made this journey for me too. I loved hearing all your lovely words and I look forward to checking out the bloggers I don’t know yet. I am touched to be included on such a great list. Thank you sooooo very much for thinking of me. All your support and super kind words mean the world ❤️❤️ thank you, thank you 🥺🥰💞

    Liked by 2 people

  4. WELCOME BACK and happy blogaversary!!! I’ve missed you guys’ posts! I’m so beyond flattered to be included in this list (and a little emotional, I won’t lie lmao). Thank you so, so, so much. I love Wordy and Whimsical so much and am so incredibly happy that the universe has brought us all into each other’s paths 🥰🥰🥰

    Liked by 2 people

  5. 💜💜💜
    I was just thinking of you…wondering if your hiatus was coming to an end. Thank you for including me and saying such sweet things about my blog! (Yep, Vera, we’ve know each other since 2015, can you believe it?). I’ve read a bunch of the other posts you recommended, BTW. Welcome back, and here’s to a fresh, exciting restart of Wordy and Whimsical!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. This really is the sweetest post! I’m so happy my posts about mental health resonate with y’all 🙂 Happy blogiversary Vera and Sabrina! I’ll have to now go check out the other lovely bloggers you guys mention.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I’m still not over you featuring me in this post, it’s a huge compliment, especially when I see some bloggers I love on here as well and I’m like I’m not worthy. Nick is to blame for half the books on my TBR but I know I’ll find new favourites if I stop by her blog. And Amber always seems to discover some interesting books, she finds the best fantasy reads on her blog. But I can’t believe there are other bloggers here I’ve not discovered yet so I’m off to make sure I stalk everyone’s blogs… I was thinking the other day my blog feed had gotten quieter during my blogging absences so time to add some more people in. Posts like this are always a highlight for me because who doesn’t love celebrating the community?

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.